SHA to host 29th Annual Alumnae Awards
Posted 01/07/2019 11:56AM

Sacred Heart Academy will host the 29th annual Alumnae Awards Celebration on Thursday, February 7, 2019 at the Mellwood Arts & Entertainment Center. The school will bestow the prestigious honor of Alumna of the Year to Nanette Mershon. Ms. Mershon, a graduate of the Class of 1967, has been a tireless and dedicated supporter of Sacred Heart Academy since stepping on campus as a freshman. She worked as Director of Alumnae Relations for over 20 years and now serves in a fundraising role in Sacred Heart Schools' Advancement Office.

Sacred Heart will also present three alumnae with the Heart Award, given annually to graduates or individuals who have contributed significantly to their community at large or the SHA community and faculty. The Heart Award recipients in 2019 are Jenny Hundley Alvey '87, Mary Jennifer Peet Hempstead '89, and Angela Chamberlin Leet '87. In addition, an Honorary Diploma will be awarded to Barbara Brown Horton, whose devotion to the school is equal to those who graduated from Sacred Heart.

The Valkyrie Hall of Fame will induct three new members into the Class of 2019: Katie Wetterer Spenlau '05, Leah Ryan Stark '06, and beloved swim coach Jim Luebbe.

Finally, the Ursuline Teaching Legacy Award will be presented to Ellen Montgomery Burton '83. The award was established in March of 2008 to honor the Ursuline Sisters' 150th anniversary of teaching in Louisville. Ms. Burton has been a teacher for nearly 30 years and has spent the last 20 as an educator in the Archdiocese of Louisville.

The celebration will include a reception, dinner, a cash bar and awards ceremony. Dinner tickets are $45 per person. Children age five to 12 are $15 and children four and younger are free. Reservations can be made online at

Support SHS

Learn More>

Request Info

Learn More>
powered by finalsite