Sacred Heart Academy Graduates Receive Special Awards
Posted 05/13/2016 03:39PM

Mary Lee McCoy, principal of Sacred Heart Academy, has announced the following members of the Class of 2016 as receiving special awards during the annual Honors Day celebration today.

Emily Easterling was named Miss Sacred Heart. This prestigious award recognizes a senior who represents Sacred Heart Academy's core values of community, reverence, service and leadership. Miss Sacred Heart, who is nominated by faculty/staff and students, demonstrates in words and actions a genuine love for her school, her fellow students, the faculty and the staff.

Mary K. Wentzel received the St. Angela Award for her daily and year-long commitment to the Ursuline core values of community, leadership, reverence and service. The award is given by the Sacred Heart Schools Office of Mission Effectiveness and is named after St. Angela Merici, who founded the Ursuline Sisters.

Other special awards presented to the Class of 2016 included: The 110 Percent Effort Award- Kate Brewer; Bunny Daugherty Unsung Hero Award- Claire Griffin; Parents' Association Award- Clare Blim; Athlete of the Year Award- Katie Esselman, Cat Fell and Asia Seidt; and SHA Alumnae Association Outstanding Senior Award- Kelly Teta.

Members of the SHA Class of 2016 received scholarships, in excess of $29 million, and have been accepted to 180 colleges and universities across the United States. Of the 222 graduates, 46 have mothers and 31 have grandmothers who are alumnae of SHA. Five have a great-grandmother who graduated from SHA.

Support SHS

Learn More>

Request Info

Learn More>
powered by finalsite